I Love Sudoku!

According to my Sudoku book, it is “the original brain workout from Japan.” The Japanese are SO cool. 😉 Sudoku is really fun. The reason I found out how to do it was because of my aunt, who had a virtual Sudoku in her car. Virtual Sudoku is harder than doing Sudoku on paper, because if you put a number in the wrong place, there’s no taking it away. That’s why I always do it on paper, with a mechanical pencil.

I wanted to play Virtual Sudoku because it looked cool enough – nine columns, with nine blocks in each one. I tried to figure out how to do it with some sad help from my aunt. Until I found Sudoku on paper, I thought that it was super hard. Well, on paper, it’s not.

In my book, it has a good explanation on how to play. Let me give you a little explanation. It’ll probably be horrible and non-understandable, but just give me a chance, okay? 😉

Okay, take a look at the Sudoku puzzle I’ve put in this post. The numbers range from 1-9. There can only be one of each number in each row, and column.

Okay, I know that didn’t give you enough of an explanation, so here’s a good explanation from ehow.com 😉

  1. Look at the size of your diagram. Each row, column and square on your diagram must have each number once but no more. For example, in a diagram measuring 9 by 9, each row, column and square must have the digits 1 through 9 once without duplication of any number.
  2. Analyze the location of squares that already are filled in. If a box has a 5 and 9, you know that the box needs the seven other digits to be complete. Look at the diagram in terms of three sections, the top, middle and bottom boxes in rows.
  3. Use a pencil to fill in possible numbers so you can erase them if you’re wrong. It’s easier to write “5 or 6” in a box than to remember that the number in that box needs to be one or the other. Use a pen to finalize your answer if you know a number is correct.
  4. Continue filling in boxes until each row, column and box has all digits once and only once. Check your work along the way to verify you don’t have duplicated numbers.

As my mother said, I’m obsessed with it. But hey, she doesn’t even understand the concept, why should she care? 😉 I’m still a beginning Sudokuer — wait, is that what we’re called? Sudokuers? I have no idea. Anyway, I hope that, if you haven’t already tried at least ONE puzzle, you now try at least one after reading this post. 😉

By the way, “Apparently, there are 6,670, 903, 752, 021, 072, 936,960 possible games,” says my book. 😯 A bit overwhelming, isn’t it? The first six in that number…what ‘illion’ is that? O.O There’s thousand, then million, then billion, then trillion…what comes after that? XD

Signing off!  Have a great day 😀

~M~

I'm a twelve-year old homeschooled Christian who loves nuthatches. Don't forget to check out my blogs! https://nuthatchlover.wordpress.com/

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Games
2 comments on “I Love Sudoku!
  1. Natalie says:

    Maggie, it makes me so happy that you love it!! I LOVE Sudoku! You’ll have to try jigsawdoku.com! You can change your answers on that website. You’ll have to convert your mom eventually. 😉

Leave a Reply

